Let’s Take the Sun Seriously.

Hey everybody! How ya been!? Life has been a little crazy around here lately! Mainly because I my mom had to have surgery on Tuesday of this week! And when your momma is sick, your world stops! I am fully aware that this is no medical blog and I am NOT a doctor! Let’s be honest, I tend faint when pain sets in!  But after the experience with my mom, I think it is time that we all take the sun a little more seriously!  You see, she had melanoma years ago and had to have surgery then to have it removed.  A couple of weeks ago she had a spot next to her eye checked out again just to be sure because it had changed its texture and shape.  Well, it was cancer.  Luckily, it was a type of cancer that was localized to one location and doesn’t spread through the blood stream.  Praise the Lord!  She had surgery Tuesday and had the cancer removed.  However, it has given me a new set of eyes for the reality of skin cancer.  Especially after speaking with the doctor and him informing me that some are simply more prone to develop skin cancer and it is hereditary.  He also said that the damage to the skin is done in your youth and you might not see the effects of it until you are older.  SO, it is time to start really taking care of my skin!  And I would encourage you to do the same!  Let’s all load on the sunscreen, never go to the tanning beds (self tanners really are wonderful), and get ourselves to the dermatologist! Early detection really is key!! Years ago, I committed myself to wearing sunscreen everyday and stop the occasional visits to the tanning beds.  Don’t get me wrong, this girl loves the beach and the sun! But it is time to start taking better precautions and protecting my skin! Here are a few products that I use and LOVE! I hope this will encourage you to do the same!

This entry was posted in Advice. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Let’s Take the Sun Seriously.

  1. Leukemia Lymphoma says:

    After i read your post, i think it’s great. Most definitely high-quality info here. Articles like this make this website worth http://leukemia-lymphoma.us/

Leave a Reply

